Mike Hamlin one of eight Judicial Chairs at Rugby World Cup

  • August 1, 2019

Well deserved honour for Mike.

Click here to see a web copy of the full email

World Rugby has announced the team of citing commissioners and judicial chairs and panel members for Rugby World Cup 2019, which kicks off on 20 September.

Reflecting the international federation’s commitment to alignment between the on-field and off-field sanctioning process, the team has been selected on merit following a full review of recent international, cross-border and domestic performances and includes significant experience. 

Japan 2019 is the first Rugby World Cup to feature the enhanced disciplinary process, launched after a full review of England 2015 and designed to achieve alignment with the match officials and a stronger emphasis on ‘rugby empathetic’ outcomes:

·         Three-person judicial committees comprising of an experienced judicial chair and two panel members from a panel of former international coaches, players and referees 

·         Revised sanctions table launched in 2017 and game-wide education of disciplinary personnel to drive consistency across multiple jurisdictions

·         One-team ethos between citing, judicial and match official environments

·         Regular calibration sessions with citing commissioners, judicial personnel and match officials to achieve alignment on game-trends, law application emphasis and consistency

The panel of eight citing commissioners is brimming with international experience and includes five members with previous Rugby World Cup experience, while the judicial panel members selection features former Scotland coach Frank Hadden, South Africa star Stefan Terblanche, England’s Leon Lloyd and referee of 19 tests, Ireland’s Donal Courtney.  

Citing Commissioners: James Absaloms (Kenya)*, Freek Burger (South Africa)*, Shaun Gallagher (England), John Montgomery (Scotland), Scott Nowland (Australia)*, Michael O’Leary (New Zealand)*, David Pelton (USA) and Murray Whyte (Ireland)*

Judicial chairs: Adam Casselden SC (Australia)*, Jean-Noël Couraud (France)*, Sir James Dingemans (England)*, Mike Hamlin (England), Nigel Hampton QC (New Zealand), Alan Hudson (Canada)*, Roger Morris (Wales)*, Shao-Ing Wang (Singapore) and Pamela Woodman (Scotland)